May 9, 2007

Rap Sheet: Sean Paul Sets the Temperature

Sean Paul, grabbed a whopping six awards Saturday night as the curtains came down on the 26th International Reggae & World Music Awards. Paul grabbed the ‘Bob Marley Award for Entertainer of the Year’ at the Apollo Theater in New York along with the awards for ‘Recording Artist(s)/Group of the Year,’ ‘Best Song,’ and ‘Best Crossover Song,’ for ‘Temperature,’ ‘Most Popular Hip Hop Entertainer’ and ‘Songwriter of the Year.’

The Messenjah, Luciano, walked away with the Best Male Vocalist title and the Most Cultural/Educational Entertainer award while Tanya Stephens picked up the Best Female Vocalist award. Best Female DJ/Rapper was Macka Diamond while the Best Album/CD title went to “Too Bad” by Buju Banton, who also nabbed the Best Male DJ/Rapper award. The Best New Entertainer along with Most Popular Sound System/Selector awards were given to Tony Matterhorn while the Best Calypso/Soca Entertainer was co-host of the event, Machel Montano. Capleton picked up the Most Outstanding Stage Personality award while the Best Music Video went to Baby Cham for “Ghetto Story” and Da’Ville was named Most Improved Entertainer. Morgan Heritage captured the Most Outstanding Show Band/Group award while Byron Lee & the Dragonaires were named Most Consistent Entertainer. Best Latin-Oriented Entertainer was Shakira while the Best Reggaeton Entertainer was Daddy Yankee. Ziggy Marley was lauded with the Award for Outstanding Contribution to World Music while the Selassie I Award for “Spiritual Service Through Music” went to his brother, Damian Marley. The Best Gospel-Oriented Song was “King Jesus,” by Chevelle Franklyn while the Best Compas/Racine Entertainer of the year was Sweet Mickey. Angelique Kidjo copped Best African Entertainer while Koffi Olomide captured the Best Soukous Entertainer award. Meanwhile, B.B. Seaton & the Gaylads and Boris Gardner were inducted into the International Reggae & World Music Hall of Fame while the Producer’s “Respect” Award was given to Doug E. Fresh, Gregory Isaacs and Half Pint while the Martin’s International & Associates Award of Honor went to Don One (Don One Records), Ed Robinson (E2 Recordings), Edward “Bunny” Lee and King Jammy’s. The International Award for Leadership was given to Prime Minister of Jamaica, Portia Simpson Miller while Bono and Oprah Winfrey were named the Marcus Garvey Humanitarian Awardees. Awards of Appreciation for Contribution to the Music Industry were handed out to Bobby of Culture Jam WVIP 93.5FM), Dave Clark, (Friends of Reggae), Jerome Hamilton, (Headline Entertainment), Lorna Wainwright, (Tuff Gong), Mikey Jarrett, Richie B., (HOT 102FM), Dahved Levy, (WBLS 107.5FM) and Winston “Niney” Holness (The Observer). The winners are selected by reggae and world music fans and the general public worldwide after experts in the reggae and world music industry select the nominees for the annual event, produced by Martin's International and Associates, LLC whose directors include: Ephraim Martin, Clifton Edwards, Austin McBean and Carlton Muldrow. – source: Technorati Cosmos: related links

No comments:

Post a Comment